Education System in Micronesia

Micronesia is a country in the Pacific Ocean, which consists of four main island states- Chuuk, Pohnpei, Kosrae, and Yap. The country is famous for its hospitality all over the world. The education system of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is based on a United States model. There are four levels: Early Childhood Education (ECE) for ages 3–5, Elementary for ages 6-13 (Grades 1–8), Secondary for ages 14–18 (Grades 9–12) and Post-Secondary.

Each state of Micronesia has its own education agency operating public schools as mentioned below:
  • Chuuk Department of Education
  • Kosrae Department of Education
  • Pohnpei Department of Education
  • Yap Department of Education
Eight years of education is compulsory in Micronesia. Children start attending primary school at the age of 6 years. The eight-year curriculum includes Science, Mathematics, Language Arts, Social Studies and Physical Education. Public Secondary Education in Micronesia is available free of cost to the students. Education is also provided through private schools like Pohnpei Agricultural and Trade School and Xavier High School in Chuuk. Few religious groups also offer private schooling.

Micronesia joined UNESCO on October 19, 1999 and is covered by the Organization's Office in Apia in Samoa. The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) spends more than 6% of their GDP on education. Furthermore, this achievement was hailed by the UNESCO Director-General when he visited the FSM in August 2005. As of September 2006, Micronesia has 3 schools participating in UNESCO’s Associated Schools Project Network (ASPnet).

For latest updates see official website
Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?
loading Processing...

World Select a Country

Our Network :