GMAT or Graduate Management Admission Test is a computer adaptive test, or CAT. It is used to measure the candidate’s writing, quantitative, analytical, verbal and reading skills in a standard written English. This test is conducted to enroll students in a graduate management program, like MBA.

Several business schools use GMAT as the basic admission criterion into various management programs such as MBA, Master of Accountancy and Master of Finance. Recently, in 2012 GMAC or Graduate Management Admission Council or GMAC was introduced to the exam. It is an integrated reason section, which is designed to measure the ability of evaluation in multiple resources and new formats.

Test Structure

GMAT consists of four sections, which are Analytical Writing Assessment, Integrated Reasoning, Quantitative Section, and Verbal Section. The total time duration of this test is 3 and half hours, but it is advised to take the time as 4 hours approximately, including the breaks.

The Analytical Writing Assessment consists of a 30 minutes writing task, wherein the candidates have to analyze a given argument, engage in reasoning and write a critique on it. Furthermore, this write up is rated twice and then given an average score. The first rating is done by a computerized reading evaluation and the other rating is provided by a person at GMAC, without any knowledge of the computerized scores.

This section is measured on a scale of 1 to 6, where 1 is the minimum score and 6 being the maximum.

The Integrated Reasoning was introduced in June 2012. It was designed to measure the candidate’s evaluation of presented data in multiple formats from multiple sources. This section consists of 12 questions in four varied formats, which are graphics interpretation, two-part analysis, table analysis and multi source reasoning.

Integrated Reasoning is cored on a scale from 1 to 8.

It is important to note for the students that both Analytical Writing Assessment (AWA) and Integrated Reasoning (IR) are not included in the total GMAT scores.

The Quantitative Section is designed to measure a candidate’s ability to reason quantitatively, solve quantitative problems, interpret graphic date and analyze and use the information in a given problem.

The questions are primarily based on arithmetic, algebra and geometry. Furthermore, the test consists of two types of quantitative question – problem solving and data sufficiency.

Scores in this section are measured on a scale from 0 to 60, however they are only reported from 11 to 51.

The Verbal Section is designed to measure a candidate’s ability to read and comprehend written material, reason and evaluate arguments and correct the written material in standard written English. The questions include reading comprehension, critical reasoning and sentence correction questions.

Scores in this section are measured on a scale from 0 to 60, however they are only reported from 11 to 51.


The total GMAT scores ranges on a scale of 200 to 800 points.


The GMAT exam is administered in more than 110 countries all over the world. Institutions in 83 countries use GMAT to select the candidates and as a matter of fact, more than 1,500 universities that offer 5,400 programs use GMAT.

For more information, please visit
Connect me with the Top Colleges
First Name:
Last Name:
E-Mail ID :
You live in:
Mobile Number:
You want to study in:
Highest Level of Education:
Study Preference:
You want to Study:
Need an education loan?

World Select a Country

Our Network :